AMVCA Best Screenplay Winners and Nominees Through the Years

Nov 17, 2023

Lights. Camera. AMVCA!

The African Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) has been a prestigious platform that celebrates outstanding contributions to the African film industry. Among its various categories, the AMVCA Best Screenplay award stands out as a recognition of the brilliant minds behind the captivating narratives that grace our screens.

Let’s take a journey through the years, from the inception of the award in 2013 to the latest winners of the coveted Best Writer Award, to explore the nominees and winners who have left an indelible mark on African storytelling.

AMVCA Best Screenplay Winners and Nominees Since 2013

#AMVCA (2013)

Winner (Best Drama Writer): Obi Emelonye/Amaka Obi-Emelonye – “The Mirror Boy”
Winner (Best Comedy Writer): Tim Greene – “Skeem”


#AMVCA2 (2014)

Winner (Best Drama Writer): Shirley Frimpong-Manso & Hertey Owusu – “Contract”
Winner (Best Comedy Writer): Jigi Bello – “Flower Girl”

Nominees (Best Drama Writer):

  • Shirley Frimpong-Manso & Hertey Owusu – Contract
  • Patrick Yaadar & Andy Boyo – Off The Hook
  • Akpor Kagho – Living Funeral
  • Fatima Jabbe – Battered
  • Pascal Amanfo – Single & Married

Nominees (Best Comedy Writer)

  • Jigi Bello – Flower Girl
  • Jahmal Holland – Still Standing
  • Ohis Udofia – Kuti’s Career Palace
  • Patrick Onyeka – The Place
  • Seun Arowojolu – Squatterz


#AMVCA3 (2015)

Winner (Best Drama Writer): Tunde Babalola – “October 1”
Winner (Best Comedy Writer): Tunde Babalola – “The Meeting”

Nominees (Best Drama Writer):

  • A Place in the Stars – Ita Hozaife And J.K. Amalou
  • Devil in the Detail – Shirley Frimpong-Manso
  • Iyore – Frank Rajah Arase
  • Yellow Cassava – Damijo Efe Young
  • October 1 – Tunde Babalola

Nominees (Best Comedy Writer):

  • The Meeting – Tunde Babalola
  • Clinic Matters Episode 203 – Adekunle Salawu
  • When Love Comes Around – Zynnell Zuh and David Amah
  • When Love Happens – Seyi Babatope/Diche Enuwa/Temitope Bolade
  • A Letter from Adam – Lydia Forson


#AMVCA4 (2016)

Winner (Best Drama Writer): Trish Malone – “Ayanda”


  • FREETOWN – Melissa Leilani Larson
  • ROAD TO YESTERDAY – Emil B. Garuba/Ishaya Bako
  • AYANDA – Trish Malone


#AMVCA5 (2017)

Winner: Craig Freimond, Tshabalira Lebakeng, Anthony Mafela, David Majoka, Madoda Ntuli, Harriet Perlman, and Robbie Thorpe – “Vaya” (ZA)


  • 76 – Emmanuel Okomaiyi
  • The CEO – Tunde Babalola
  • A Trip to Jamaica – AY Makun
  • Oloibiri – Samantha Iwowo
  • Ghana Must Go – Tunde Babalolo
  • Vaya – Akin Omotoso


#AMVCA6 (2018)

Winner: Patrick Nnamani, Koye O., Moses Inwang – “Alter Ego” (NG)


  • Demuza – Aloaye Omoake
  • Soul Tie – Kehinde Joseph
  • Idahosa Trails – Stanlee Ohikhuare
  • 18 Hours – Njue Kevin
  • The Torture – Mulindwa Richard
  • Alter Ego – Patrick Nnamani/Koye O/Moses Inwang
  • Hakkunde – Tomi Adesina


Note: The ceremony didn’t take place in 2019


#AMVCA7 (2020)

Winner: Asinogu Nicole and CJ Obasi – “Living in Bondage” (NG)


  • BB Sasore – God Calling
  • Tosin Igho – Seven
  • Vanessa Kanu – Sylvia
  • Biodun Stephen – Joba
  • Nicole Asinugo and CJ Obasi – Living In Bondage
  • Akay Mason and Yusuf Carew – Elevator Baby


Note: The ceremony didn’t take place in 2021 due to regulations around the Covid-19 pandemic.


#AMVCA8 (2022)

Winner: Manie Oiseomaye, Donald Tombia, Biodun Stephen – “Introducing the Kujus” (NG)


  • La Femme Anjola – Tunde Babalola
  • This Lady Called Life – Toluwani Obayan & Kayode Kasum
  • For Maria Ebun Pataki – Tunray Femi & Damilola E. Orimogunje
  • One Lagos Night – Chigozirim Nwanegbo
  • Introducing The Kujus – Manie Oiseomaye, Donald Tombia, Biodun Stephen
  • Amina – Frank Chinedu Uba
  • Little Black Book – Abosi Ogba, Sally Kenneth Dadzie, Lydia Idakula Sobogun, Olawale Adetula & Belinda Yanga Agedah


#AMVCA9 (2023)

Winner: Sola Dada – “Anikulapo” (NG)


  • Funke Akindele, Jack’enneth Opukeme, Stephen Oluboyo, Jemine Edukugho – Battle on Buka Street
  • Jade Osiberu – The Trade
  • Sodi Kurubo, Stephanie Dadet, and Victor Aghahowa – Diiche (Episode 5)
  • Sola Dada – Anikulapo
  • Tunde Apalowo and Jeffery Musa David – Kanaani
  • Uche Ateli – Choke
  • Yinka Laoye – King of Thieves (Agesinkole)



Over the years, the AMVCA Best Screenplay category has celebrated the diversity and creativity of African storytellers. Each nominee and winner has contributed to the richness of African cinema, leaving an enduring legacy. As we look forward to the future of the AMVCA, we anticipate more remarkable stories and brilliant minds that will continue to shape the narrative of African storytelling on the global stage.

Other Interesting Posts